Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Local Author E. J. Wentrom awarded Florida Writers Association's Top Honor

Wenstrom’s Debut Novel Recognized as 2016 Book of the Year

-- The Florida Writers Association, Inc., (FWA) has announced that E. J. Wenstrom of Cape Canaveral, FL, won the prestigious Royal Palm Literary Award’s (RPLA) top honor. E. J. Wenstrom’s winning entry, the fantasy novel Mud: Chronicles of the Third Realm War is honored with the organization’s top award: 2016 Published Book of the Year. It also received First Place in the Published Fantasy Novel category.
The award was announced at FWA’s recent four-day annual conference in Altamonte Springs, Florida. This annual competition, which received 479 submissions, was RPLA’s fifteenth.
"This is the most comprehensive and competitive RPLA we’ve ever had,” said Chris Coward, RPLA chairperson.
In all, the competition covered 26 adult genres and 15 youth genres, with published and unpublished entries considered separately.
“I am truly honored by this recognition. I absolutely fell in love with  Mud’s antihero while writing this book, and it means the world to me any time I get affirmation that he has done the same for readers,” said E. J. Wenstrom.
About the 2016 Book of the Year
In Mud: Chronicles of the Third Realm War, Adem is a golem who desperately wants to be human makes an impulsive deal with an angel to fulfill his wish. But first, the golem must break into the Underworld and steal back the soul of the angel’s long-dead human love.  Along the way, he unintentionally sets free a group of rebel demigods determined to usurp the gods, and becomes entangled in ages-old war between the realms. Mud is E. J. Wenstrom’s debut novel, and the first book in a developing series.
"The twists and turns of Adam’s quest keep the reader on edge page after page. The author does a masterful job of raising and lowering tension," one RPLA judge stated. Judges must remain anonymous to protect the integrity of the competition.
Purchase Mud and learn more about E. J. Wenstrom at Readers can get Rain, the prequel novella to Mud, by visiting E. J. Wenstrom’s website and joining her email list. The second book in the series, TIDES, will release in spring 2017.
About the Author
E. J. Wenstrom is a fantasy and science fiction author, lover of monsters, consumer of stories, coffee addict and runner. She is the creator of the Chronicles of the Third Realm Wars series (City Owl Press).
When she's not writing fiction, she writes about writing, science fiction & fantasy, and the geek life. You can find her bylines in Book Riot, DIY MFA, The Write Life and more.
About the Florida Writers Association
The Florida Writers Association, 1,500 members strong and growing, is a nonprofit 501(c)(6) organization that supports the state’s established and emerging writers. Membership is open to the public.
The Royal Palm Literary Awards competition is a service of the Florida Writers Association established to recognize excellence in members’ published and unpublished works while providing objective and constructive written assessments for all entrants.

No comments: