Monday, November 3, 2014

Royal Palm Literary Awards

M.W. Gordon and Lloyd R. Agee win top 2014 Royal Palm Literary Awards

M.W. Gordon and Lloyd R. Agee won Published Book of the Year and Pre-Published Book of the Year, respectively, for the Royal Palm Literary Awards, a writing competition sponsored by the Florida Writers Association. All awards, including these two, were announced for the first time at the Awards Banquet held October 25, 2015, during the annual Florida Writers Conference, “Stars of Florida Writers: Discover the Limelight” October 23-26, 2014.

In all, the competition covered 32 categories of writing, each divided by published or pre-published, including genres of book-length nonfiction, short nonfiction, poetry, book-length fiction, and short fiction. The Books of the Year awards went to the highest-scoring entries among all genres.

RPLA is unique among writing competitions in that it is not only about recognizing winning entries but also about serving FWA members by providing blind, objective, and constructive written assessments of all entrants. For the second year, FWA also opened the RPLA to FWA’s Youth Writers, who competed by age group.

Click here to see the complete list of winners of all genres. 

No comments: