Wednesday, June 25, 2014

The Literary Legends Awards Banquet – A Night to Remember

Each year, The Florida Heritage Book Festival honors writers who have left their mark on Florida’s literary landscape. In the past, the St. Augustine festival has bestowed the Literary Legends Award on such iconic authors as John Jakes, Edna Buchanan, Patrick Smith, Michael Connelly and Carl Hiaasen. This year, the spotlight shines on not one, but two masters of their genres: Robin Cook, the acclaimed writer of medical thrillers, and crime novelist John D. MacDonald.

Robin Cook
Dr. Cook is the author of 28 New York Times bestsellers. He has nearly ten million copies in print, including his recent release, Cell, and currently lives and works in Florida. Dr. Cook will be on hand to accept his award, and provide the keynote remarks for the evening.

John D. MacDonald (1916 – 1986) was one of Florida’s most prolific writers, and is recognized as a major influence to many mystery writers. MacDonald is known primarily as the author of the Travis McGee mystery series, but he sold hundreds of short stories and novels before writing The Deep Blue Good-by, his first Travis
John D MacDonald
McGee novel in 1964. MacDonald will be honored with a special posthumous award. The Festival plans an exhibit from the University of Florida’s John D. MacDonald Collection to display at Flagler’s Proctor Library the week of the Festival.

The Banquet includes a reception and a silent auction to benefit the Festival, a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization. Read more and register for the banquet today by visiting

No comments: