Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Miami Mystery Novelist, Longtime Judge Barbara Levenson Among Acclaimed Authors To Appear at Literary Gala Benefiting Footprints Foundation


Levenson will appear at Footprints Foundation Jazz Brunch
 at The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove on May 17

MIAMI Florida – Celebrated mystery novelist and longtime Miami Judge Barbara Levenson has been named among the featured authors for this year’s literary gala benefiting the Footprints Foundation.

Levenson, along with New York Times best-selling author Patricia Schultz (1000 Places to See Before Your Die), Betsy Chasse (Tipping Sacred Cows), Victoria Moran (Main Street Vegan), and Elsie Augustave (The Roving Tree) will appear at the Footprints Foundation Jazz Brunch on Saturday, May 17, from 11 AM – 3 PM at the Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove (3300 SW 27th Avenue, Miami, FL 33133)

A longtime Miami Judge, champion of women’s issues, and acclaimed writer, Levenson is author of three Miami mystery novels, Fatal February, Justice in June, and Outrageous October.

At the May 17th event, Levenson will announce the soon to be released paperback editions of Justice In June and
Fatal February and her fourth book Neurotic November in late August.

Levenson’s mystery series, featuring plucky Miami lawyer Mary Magruder Katz, a half-Jewish, half-Southern Baptist criminal defense attorney, has earned high critical acclaim“Full of humor and joie de vivre.”Library Journal; “Lighthearted and frothy fun.” – The Deseret News; A winning combination of mystery and legal intrigue.” —The Free-Lance Star; “A quick, fun read. Readers are sure to want more.” Daytona Beach News-Journal; “If you’re tired of reading Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books, maybe it’s time to switch to Barbara Levenson. Highly entertaining, fast-paced, and funny.” Lansing State Journal; “Excellent.” —I Love a Mystery; “Engrossing.” – Reviewing the Evidence; “Fans of Stephanie Plum and Kinsey Millhone will find a new author to love.” –Review the Book.

Barbara Levenson is a cum laude graduate of the University of Miami Law School, and has resided in Miami, Florida, for the past 38 years. Barbara has served as a prosecutor, and run her own law practice where she focused on criminal defense and civil rights litigation. Barbara was elected to a judgeship in the circuit court of Miami-Dade County where she served mainly in criminal court and after retirement, as senior judge.   Visit Barbara Levenson online at:  www.barbaralevenson.com.

The Jazz Brunch Gala, which will feature an elegant brunch and music by the Les Haber Quintet, benefits the Footprints Foundation, an organization founded to reduce the mortality rates of mothers and infants in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Jamaica, and Somaliland. Founded by Lorna Owens, a renowned nurse, mid-wife, life coach and attorney, The Footprints Foundation works to train skilled midwives and traditional birth attendants in the essentials of maternal and newborn care.

Tickets for the Jazz Brunch Literary Gala are $130 per person in advance of the event, or $190 per person at the door. For more information, please visit www.footprints-foundation.org

Members of the news media wishing to request more information about Barbara Levenson are kindly asked to contact Maryglenn McCombs by phone:  (615) 297-9875, or by email: maryglenn@maryglenn.com


No comments: