Thursday, March 3, 2011

5th Annual Florida Book Awards Announce Best of 2009


TALLAHASSEE, Fla.— Its fourth set of competitions completed, Florida Book Awards announces winners for seven categories of books published in 2009. "The culture of books in the Sunshine State continues to prosper," notes FBA Director Wayne A. Wiegand. "These FBA winners clearly prove it."

The Florida Book Awards --the nation's most comprehensive state book awards program-- was established in 2006 to recognize, honor, and celebrate the best Florida literature published the previous year. It is coordinated by The Florida State University Libraries, and co-sponsored by the Florida Center for the Book, State Library and Archives of Florida, Florida Historical Society, Florida Humanities Council, Florida Literary Arts Coalition, Florida Library Association, “Just Read, Florida!,” Florida Family Literacy Initiative, the Program in American and Florida Studies at Florida State University, Florida Reading Association, Florida Association for Media in Education, Florida Center for the Literary Arts, the Friends of FSU Libraries, and Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America.

Submissions were read by seven juries of three members each nominated from across the state by cosponsoring organizations. Jurors were authorized to select up to five medalists (including one winner and one runner-up) in each of the seven categories.

Children’s Literature
Gold: Jan Godown Annino, She Sang Promise: The Story of Betty Mae Jumper, Seminole Tribal Leader
Silver: Mary GrandPre and Jack Prelutsky, Camille Saint-Saens’s The Carnival of the Animals
Bronze: Henry Cole, for A Nest for Celeste: A Story About Art, Inspiration, and the Meaning of Home
Bronze: Brad Meltzer, for Heroes for my Son,
Bronze: Harvey E. Oyer III, for The Last Egret: The Adventures of Charlie Pierce

Florida Non-Fiction

General Fiction
Gold: Mark Mustian, The Gendarme
Silver: Patricia Engel, Vida
Bronze: T.M. Shine, Nothing Happens Til it Happens to You
Bronze: Mary Jane Ryals, Cookie and Me

Gold: Carol Frost, Honeycomb
Silver: Lola Haskins, Still, the Mountain
Bronze: Kelle Groom, Five Kingdoms

Popular Fiction
Gold: William Culyer Hall, The Trouble With Panthers
Silver: Randy Wayne White, Deep Shadow
Bronze: Joyce Elson Moore, The Tapestry Shop
Bronze: Charles Martin, The Mountain Between Us
Bronze: James Grippando, Money to Burn

Visual Arts
Gold: Jason Steuber, Laura K. Nemmers and Tracy E. Pfaff,
with a foreword by Rebecca Martin Nagy, editors, Samuel P. Harn of Art
at Twenty Years: The Collection Catalogue (University Press of Florida)
Silver: Margaret Ross Tolbert, AQUIFERious (Fidelity Press)

Young Adult
Gold: Christina Diaz Gonzalez, The Red Umbrella

Spanish Lanugage
Gold: Jose Alvarez, Los Alamos del parque

Authors by Region

The eight Gold Medal Winners will also be recognized on March 17 at the Historical and Cultural Awards Ceremony sponsored by the State of Florida’s Division of Cultural Affairs at the R.A. Gray Building in Tallahassee. All awardees will be recognized at the Florida Library Association Conference Banquet on May 5 in Orlando. For information, contact CMC & Associates at

To learn more about Florida Book Awards, visit: or

No comments: