Friday, February 26, 2010


TALLAHASSEE, Fla.— Its fourth set of competitions completed, Florida Book Awards announces winners for seven categories of books published in 2009. “The culture of books in the Sunshine State continues to prosper,” notes FBA Director Wayne A. Wiegand. “These FBA winners clearly prove it.”

The Florida Book Awards –the nation’s most comprehensive state book awards program– was established in 2006 to recognize, honor, and celebrate the best Florida literature published the previous year. It is coordinated by The Florida State University Libraries, and co-sponsored by the Florida Center for the Book, State Library and Archives of Florida, Florida Historical Society, Florida Humanities Council, Florida Literary Arts Coalition, Florida Library Association, “Just Read, Florida!,” Florida Family Literacy Initiative, the Program in American and Florida Studies at Florida State University, Florida Reading Association, Florida Association for Media in Education, Florida Center for the Literary Arts, the Friends of FSU Libraries, and Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America.

Submissions were read by seven juries of three members each nominated from across the state by cosponsoring organizations. Jurors were authorized to select up to five medalists (including one winner and one runner-up) in each of the seven categories.

Gold Medal Winner: Joan Hiatt Harlow, Secret of the Night Ponies

Gold Medal Winner: Jack E. Davis, An Everglades Providence: Marjory Stoneman Douglas and the American Environmental Century
Silver Medal Winner: Carlton Ward Jr., Florida Cowboys
Bronze Medal Winner: Todd T. Turrell, Naples Waterfront – Changes in Time

Gold Medal Winner: N M Kelby, A Travel Guide for Reckless Hearts
Silver Medal Winner: Janet Burroway, Bridge of Sand
Bronze Medal Winner: Ana Menendez, The Last War
Bronze Medal Winner: A. Manette Ansay, Good Things I Wish You
Bronze Medal Winner: Michael Lister, Double Exposure

Gold Medal Winner: Campbell McGrath, Shannon
Silver Medal Winner: Denise Duhamel, Ka-Ching!
Bronze Medal Winner: Jesse Millner, Neighborhoods of My Past Sorrow
Bronze Medal Winner: Peter Meinke, Lines from Neuchatel

Gold Medal Winner: Glynn Marsh Alam, Moon Water Madness
Silver Medal Winner: Diane A. S. Stuckart, Portrait of a Lady: A Leonardo DaVinci Mystery
Bronze Medal Winner: Jonathon King, The Styx
Bronze Medal Winner: Chris Kuzneski, The Lost Throne
Bronze Medal Winner: Tim Dorsey, Nuclear Jellyfish

Gold Medal Winner: Juan Cueto-Roig, Veintiún cuentos concisos
Silver Medal Winner: José Alvarez, Fran País y la revolución cubana

Gold Medal Winner: Alex Sanchez, Bait
Silver Medal Winner: Rick Yancey, The Monstrumologist
Authors by Region
Boca Raton — Jonathon King
Fort Myers — Jesse Millner
Gainesville –Jack E. Davis, Rick Yancey
Loxahatchee/Wellington — Diane Stuckart, Jose Alvarez
Miami — Alex Sanchez, Ana Menendez, Campbell McGrath, Denise Duhamel, Juan Cueto-Roig
Naples — Todd Turrell
Palm Beach — A. Manette Ansay
Sarasota — N.M. Kelby
St. Petersberg — Peter Meinke
Tallahassee — Glynn Marsh Alam, Janet Burroway
Tampa — Carlton Ward Jr., Chris Kuzneski, Tim Dorsey
Venice — Joan Hiatt Harlow
Wewahitchka — Michael Lister
The seven Gold Medal Winners will also be recognized on March 24 at the Historical and Cultural Awards Ceremony sponsored by the State of Florida’s Division of Cultural Affairs at the R.A. Gray Building in Tallahassee. All awardees will be recognized at the Florida Library Association Conference Banquet on April 8 in Orlando. For information, contact CMC & Associates at

To learn more about Florida Book Awards, visit: or .

No comments: